Hawkins, McKay offered final Volts Contracts

30 Jun 2020

Hawkins and McKay offered final Volts contracts 

Top order batsman Camden Hawkins, and former Central Stags youngster Jarrod McKay have been offered the last two remaining contracts for the Otago Volts 2020-21 season.

Otago Cricket Performance Manager, Simon Forde, said that both players were exciting inclusions to the Volts Squad. 

“Our first priority was the retention of our current squad of players which we have managed to achieve. Our secondary priority was to strengthen the depth of our seam bowling stocks. As a result, we are pleased to announce that Jarrod McKay will be joining the Volts as a newly contracted player. He is an exciting young prospect who will add significant value to our bowling stocks this season and into the future. He’s a big man who will provide a point of difference to the attack. Cam Hawkins retains his contract and will play a crucial role in the group. Cam has been outstanding at the Otago A level for a period of time and we look forward to watching his development again this season”.

McKay (20) is the only new inclusion into the 16 contracted players this season, having come through the ranks at Central Districts, playing age-group and 'A' level cricket. McKay made his First-Class debut for the Stags in last years Plunket Shield Competition. His inclusion will bolster Otago's bowling stocks alongside captain Jacob Duffy, Michael Rae, Matt Bacon, and Nathan Smith. 

Contract Offers (20/21 season):

  • Matt Bacon (Albion CC)

  • Neil Broom (North East Valley CC)

  • Max Chu (Carisbrook Dunedin CC)

  • Jacob Duffy (Kaikorai CC)

  • Josh Finnie (Kaikorai CC)

  • Dean Foxcroft (Carisbrook Dunedin CC)

  • Camden Hawkins (Carisbrook Dunedin CC)

  • Anaru Kitchen (North East Valley CC)

  • Nick Kelly (Green Island CC)

  • Jarrod McKay* (CD Stags)

  • Dale Phillips (Taieri CC)

  • Hamish Rutherford (Albion CC)

  • Mitch Renwick (Kaikorai CC)

  • Michael Rippon (Kaikorai CC)

  • Michael Rae (North East Valley CC)

  • Nathan Smith (Carisbrook CC)