Meltzer in-line for Sparks debut

31 Jan 2020

Otago Under 19 allrounder Megan Meltzer is in-line to make her debut for the SBS Bank Otago Sparks in their Hallyburton Johnstone Shield clash with the Canterbury Magicians in Rangiora this weekend.


The 18-year-old who graduated from St Hilda’s Collegiate School last year is included in the Sparks for the first time after strong performances for Otago Under 19 at the National Tournament where she was Otago’s second highest run-scorer behind fellow St Hilda’s graduate Olivia Gain


Meltzer also impressed for St Hilda’s at this year’s Gillette Venus Cup where she finished as the tournament’s third highest wicket-taker and fourth leading run-scorer.


Currently taking a gap year in between school and tertiary education, Meltzer has worked alongside the Otago Cricket Performance and Talent team as one of their Identified Players.


“We’re really excited about seeing Megan get her chance at the next level,” said Otago Sparks head coach Nathan King.


“Megan has performed well at the recent Gillette Venus Cup and National Under 19 Tournaments and her inclusion in this weekend’s squad is just reward for her strong performances with bat and ball.”


The Sparks will be without the services of WHITE FERNS Suzie Bates, Katey Martin and Hayley Jensen for the remainder of the One-Day competition due to their international commitments, so they will rely on the recent experience of captain Bella James and bowler Eden Carson.


Ella Brown, Georgia Clarke, Olivia Gain and Bhagya Herath also come back in to the side having not been required for the Dream11 Super Smash elimination final against the Auckland Hearts two weeks ago.


Play gets underway from Mainpower Oval in Rangiora from 10.30am on Saturday and 10.00am on Sunday – spectator entry is free.




SBS Bank Otago Sparks squad | Hallyburton Johnstone Shield | Rounds 7 & 8

Bella James (Kaikorai) (C)

Emma Black (Carisbrook Dunedin)

Caitlin Blakely (Kaikorai)

Ella Brown (University Grange, Albion Gore)

Eden Carson (Carisbrook Dunedin)  

Olivia Gain (Kaikorai)

Sophie Gray (St Albans - Christchurch) 

Bhagya Herath (University Grange)

Marina Lamplough (University Grange)

Molly Loe

Megan Meltzer (Kaikorai)

Sophie Oldershaw (University Grange)