Muller takes top honour at Otago Cricket Community Awards

03 Apr 2020

Otago A bowler Travis Muller has taken out the Otago Cricket Community Awards top honour, winning the Otago A Outstanding Performer of the Year award.

The right-arm seamer was a consistent performer for club and representative teams throughout the summer picking up 60 wickets across all formats.

The 27-year-old proved he was also capable with the bat with a high score of 65 against Canterbury A in Rangiora and was an integral member of North East Valley’s Bing Harris winning batting unit with a club average of 30.

Angus McKenzie and Llew Johnson picked up the Otago A Bowler and Batsman of the Year awards respectively.

McKenzie had a breakthrough year in his first season with the ball for Otago A taking 34 wickets at an average of 21 across all formats and earning a call up to the Volts in the Ford Trophy.

Following on from a very successful 2018-19 season Johnson continued to dominate at club, Hawke cup, and provincial A level with the bat in 2019-20.

The right-hander averaged 42 for Otago A and 30 for North East Valley, scoring just under 1000 runs across the season including a memorable106 against Canterbury A.

Megan Meltzer took out the Women’s U19 50-Over Player of the Year Award after a standout summer.

Meltzer played a pivotal role with both bat and ball for Otago at the U19 National Tournament in Lincoln and was rewarded with a call-up to the Spark squad in the second half of their season.

Bhagya Herath picked up the Women’s U19 T20 Player of the Year after strong performances at national tournaments and consistent showings for the Sparks when called upon in the Dream11 Super Smash.

Allrounder Paige Loggenberg was recognised as the Women’s U19 Rising Star after a memorable season with bat and ball which saw her record the highest score for Otago at the National U19 tournament in Lincoln with an unbeaten 49.

Beckham Wheeler-Greenall picked up the Men’s U19 Outstanding Performer of the Year.

The allrounder played an essential role at the National U19 Tournament in Lincoln as a batsman, bowler, fielder and captain.

The 18-year-old scored 240 runs at an average of 30, as well as five wickets at 4.55, earning selection in the New Zealand U19 squad for the ICC U19 World Cup in South Africa.

His game continued to flourish at the tournament, playing an important role with both bat and ball helping New Zealand reach the semi-final stage and a fourth place finish.

Former Otago allrounder turned umpire Derek Walker capped off a milestone year with the George Clement Morris Match Official award.

Walker stood as umpire in his 100th first-class match when the Volts hosted the Central Stags last month.

Glynn Cameron was recognised with the Contribution to Coaching Award after 25 years of community coaching service, while Maniototo Cricket Club’s Lauren Shaw was recognised with the Contribution to Community Cricket Award for her consistent efforts which saw the club grow by two junior teams and enter its very first girls junior hard ball team.



Age Group District Tournament Awards

U15 Schoolgirls tournament winners – Dunedin

Secondary Schoolgirls tournament winners – Dunedin

U15 Boys tournament winners – Otago Country

U17 Boys tournament winners – Southland

Stewart McKnight Cup winners – Otago Country

District Shield winners – Otago Country

Otago National Club Championship – Taeiri Cricket Club


School Competition Awards

Super Smash Schools T20 Cup winners – Verdon College

New Zealand Cricket Shield winners – Balmacewen Intermediate


Otago Age Group Awards

U15 Girls Batter of the Year – Chloe Deerness

U15 Girls Bowler of the Year – Louisa Kotkamp

U15 Girls Outstanding Performer – Hannah Wilson

U19 Women 50-Over Player of the Year – Megan Meltzer

U19 Women T20 Player of the Year – Bhagya Herath

U19 Women Rising Star – Paige Loggenberg

U17 Boys Bowler of the Year – Toby Hart

U17 Boys Batsman of the Year - Xavier Chisholm

U17 Boys Outstanding Performer – Jacob Cumming

U19 Men Bowler of the Year – Ben Hatton

U19 Men Batter of the Year – Cam Jackson

U19 Men Outstanding Performer – Beckham Wheeler-Greenall

Otago A Bowler of the Year – Angus McKenzie

Otago A Batsman of the Year – Llew Johnson

Otago A Outstanding Performer – Travis Muller


Final Awards

George Clement Morris Match Official Award – Derek Walker

Contribution to Coaching – Glynn Cameron

Outstanding Individual Performance – Tim McCormick

Contribution to Community Cricket Award – Lauren Shaw