Otago and Districts Age-Group Tournaments 2018/19

30 Jan 2019

Otago's age-group cricketers have been scattered at National Tournaments throughout the country these holidays. They have played some fantastic cricket and represented our region with pride.

Primary School Boys and Girls - Dozens of young Otago cricketers represented their districts at the South Island Primary School Tournaments in January. North Otago hosted the boys in Oamaru with teams from North Otago, Otago Country, Southland, Dunedin and Invercargill. Girls sides from Dunedin, Otago Districts and Otago Country played in Christchurch with all three teams placing in the top four (first, third and fourth). A special mention to Hannah E Wilson (Dunedin) who won Top Run Scorer and Top Wicket Taker, and to Chloe Deerness (Dunedin) who picked up Second Top Run Scorer.

U15 Women - Playing at the National U15 Development Tournament in Wanganui, these ladies had a huge week of learning with some great team and individual performances. A highlight was beating Northern Districts in their final game. The team set ND a total of 149 runs with a great knock from Isy Parry scoring 33. Some excellent bowling performances from Hannah Wilson 3-15 and Isy Parry 4-31 saw the girls take the win on the last ball.

Team - Emily Brosnahan, River Cunningham, Chloe Deerness, Anna Duncan, Caitlin Hollyer, Paige Loggenburg, Anna McClean, Bridget Mullally, Isabel Parry, Neave Sheehy, Caitlin Scherp and Hannah Wilson.

U17 Men - The Otago side placed fifth at their National Tournament, registering wins against Northern Districts and Canterbury. Tom Dempster, Harrison Biggs, Jacob Cumming and Cameron Elliott all registered over 150 runs for the tournament, with notable contributions from Harrison Biggs (251 runs, including 1x 100 and 1x 50) and Cameron Elliott (207 runs, including 3x 50). Kyle Hastie (7) and Michael Ruske (6) proved to be the team's main wicket taking threat, with Beckham Wheeler-Greenall controlling the run-rate during the middle overs (44-1-202-5).

Team - Beckham Wheeler-Greenall, Harrison Biggs, Xavier Chisolm, Benji Culhane, Jacob Cumming, Tom Dempster, Cam Elliott, Jacob Gilbert, Kyle Hastle, Finn Hurley, Gabe Ross, Michael Ruske and Brayden Thomas.

U18 Women - Playing in Wellington, this group was the first team Otago has sent to the National U18 Tournament in several years. They had a very enjoyable and worthwhile week of cricket, fighting hard in every game and working as a team throughout! Congratulations to all the girls and to Harriet Cuttance who was named the team's MVP of the tournament.

Team - Amber Cunningham, Harriett Cuttance, Joy Dvoracek, Ella Hurley, Molly Loe, Paige McIvor, Jordan Meltzer, Megan Meltzer, Isabel Parry, Angelique Peyroux, Kloe Vermeir and Grace Walding.

U19 Men - The team started and finished their tournament strongly with a tie and a win against Northern Districts, and wins against Canterbury and Central Districts. While the results were mixed, the players all developed substantially throughout the tournament. Hunter Kindley, Max Chu and Llew Johnson all scored over 150 runs for the tournament while Ben Lockrose and Beckham Greenall took 12 and 11 wickets respectively. Kindley and Johnson have also been selected to represent New Zealand Emerging Players in February at a T20 tournament in Taupo.

Team - Max Chu, Blair Donaldson, Jordan Gain, Beckham Greenall, Nathan Hastle, Charlie Holt, Mason James, Llew Johnson, Hunter Kindley (C), Josh Kellett, Ben Lockrose, Jack Mockford and Michael Ruske.

U21 Women - Taking place in Auckland before Christmas, our U21 ladies took out third place and wins over Canterbury and Northern Districts. Emma Black (6), Kate Heffernan (5) and Eden Carson (5) were the sides top wicket takers while Bella James (124), Georgia Heffernan (91) and Olivia Gain (91) picked up the most runs.

Team - Ella Brown (C), Emma Black, Tayla Brown, Eden Carson, Harriett Cuttance, Olivia Gain, Georgia Heffernan, Kate Heffernan, Bella James, Marina Lamplough, Molly Loe, Megan Meltzer and Olivia West.