Rae, Rutherford return for elimination final

12 Feb 2020

The Otago Volts have been handed a huge boost ahead of tomorrow’s Ford Trophy elimination final, with vice-captain Hamish Rutherford and in-form paceman Michael Rae returning to the side.


The pair have been unavailable for the last three Ford Trophy matches due to New Zealand A selection and will add welcome firepower in both innings in what is anticipated to be an evenly matched Southern derby.


Rutherford has been in and out of the Volt’s side in this summer’s One-Day format due to injury and New Zealand A selection – tomorrow’s match will be just his fifth Ford Trophy appearance of the summer.


The 30-year-old’s last Ford Trophy appearance was a memorable one as he scored a magnificent 155 against the Central Stags leading his side to their highest ever List A score at the University of Otago Oval (407).


Rae has been in career-best form with the ball and was rewarded with his first New Zealand A selection after impressing in the early stages of the summer.


The North East Valley seamer has been unavailable for large parts of the Ford Trophy campaign and has only appeared twice so far, however he will be looking to carry over his impressive Super Smash form in the 50-over arena.


Rutherford and Rae’s inclusion are the only additions to the Volts squad for the elimination final – Angus McKenzie drops out.

The Volts have won three of their last four Ford Trophy games against Canterbury, including a 23-run win in their most recent encounter (5 February 2020).


A win tomorrow would see them qualify for their second consecutive Ford Trophy final – with their eyes firmly fixed on going one step further this year.


Play gets underway from 11.00am at Hagley Oval – spectator entry is free.



Otago Volts squad | Ford Trophy | Elimination Final

Jacob Duffy (Kaikorai) (C)

Matt Bacon (Albion)

Neil Broom (NEV)

Josh Finnie (Kaikorai)

Dean Foxcroft (Carisbrook Dunedin)

Nick Kelly (Green Island)

Anaru Kitchen (NEV)

Dale Phillips (Taieri)

Michael Rae (NEV)

Mitch Renwick (Kaikorai)

Michael Rippon (Kaikorai)

Hamish Rutherford (Albion)

Nathan Smith (Carisbrook Dunedin)