SBS Bank Otago Sparks Squad Named

18 Oct 2018

Head Coach Nathan King has named a 19 strong squad to contest this years revamped Women’s Burger King Super Smash and the Hallyburton Johnston Shield 50 over competition.

Marina Lamplough (Hong Kong) and Megan Meltzer (St Hilda’s Collegiate School) are two newcomers to a side, which combines experience with youth ahead of the first round of Burger King Super Smash being played at NZC High Performance Centre at Lincoln 25 -28 October.  Three of the team are still in year 12 at High School, while the Sparks can call on the experience of WHITE FERNS Suzie Bates, Katey Martin and Leigh Kasperek to guide both campaigns.  

Bates will be unavailable for large parts of the domestic season while on WHITE FERNS and WBBL duty. King will be looking to the likes of seasoned players Bella James, Megan Gibbs, Polly Inglis, Georgia Clarke and the returning Millie Cowan to contribute in the WHITE FERNS absence. 

Kate Heffernan made her WHITE FERNS T20 debut last summer and along with talented twin sister Georgia, both have an opportunity to really impress this summer.  

We are excited to announce we will also be able to call on the services of an Australian and Englishwoman throughout different parts of the upcoming domestic season.  

NSW and Sydney Thunder allrounder Lisa Griffith (26) has been signed to play the first full round of Burger King Super Smash at the New Zealand Cricket High Performance Centre at Lincoln, from 25 – 28 October.  

Griffith’s return to cricket has been one of interest as she gave the game away at just 19, having represented NSW at the time. In 2010 she moved away from Sydney and found work in the Northern Territory outback on a cattle ranch before returning home to Bathurst in 2017 to study, playing some men’s grade cricket, then being selected to play for NSW Country at the Australian State Championships, where she averaged 72 with the bat alongside 4 wickets before being called up for her WBBL debut season for the Sydney Thunder last summer.

Yorkshire allrounder Alice Davidson-Richards (24) will represent the SBS Bank Otago Sparks across both the HallyBurton Johnston Shield (6 matches) and the last round of Burger King Super Smash.

Davidson-Richards made her full England debut in April this year playing one ODI against India before playing five T20 Internationals against India and Australia in March and April.  A bowling allrounder, Davidson-Richards will fill the void left by Beth Langston, another ECB contracted player who played for the SBS Bank Otago Sparks over the past two seasons.  

With the unavailability of Suzie Bates for large parts of the season, to WBBL and the WHITE FERNS, and with Katey Martin and Leigh Kasperek also likely to be on WHITE FERNS duty at various stages, Head Coach Nathan King emphasised the need for experience to support an otherwise young and inexperienced squad. “Both players will add significant value to the performance of the Sparks, as pace bowling all-rounders. It was also important from my perspective that we signed players who would offer support and guidance for our younger and less experienced players. I’m really excited about the contribution and positive impact that both players will have on our environment”.

The SBS Bank Otago Sparks for 2018-19 are:

  1. Suzie Bates
  2. Emma Black
  3. Caitlin Blakely
  4. Ella Brown
  5. Georgia Clarke
  6. Millie Cowan
  7. Alice Davidson-Richards
  8. Olivia Gain
  9. Megan Gibbs
  10. Lisa Griffith
  11. Georgia Heffernan
  12. Kate Heffernan
  13. Polly Inglis
  14. Bella James
  15. Leigh Kasperek
  16. Marina Lamplough
  17. Katey Martin
  18. Megan Meltzer
  19. Sophie Oldershaw

Click here to see the Burger King Super Smash 2018-19 schedule and the Hallyburton Johnston Shield 2018-19 schedule.