SBS Bank Otago Sparks squad named 2019-20

18 Sep 2019

SBS Bank Otago Sparks Head Coach Nathan King has named a talented squad to prepare for what promises to be an exciting 2019/20 women’s domestic cricket season.

With the introduction of domestic contracts this season competition for places will be high across both the 50 over (Hallyburton Johnstone) and T20 Super Smash competitions. The season begins for the Sparks with two 50 over games against Central Districts on the 15/16th of November.

The squad includes exciting young local talent Molly Loe, Emma Black, Eden Carson and Olivia Gain who are currently attending St Hilda’s Collegiate in Dunedin.  There are several new faces to the squad this season including, Bhagya Herath, Hayley Jensen and Olivia West as well as Georgia Clarke who returns from injury.

Herath is a talented left arm spin bowler who is a student at the University of Otago. She has played representative cricket for Northern Districts in the past across the age groups.

An exciting addition to the squad for this season is talented WHITEFERNS allrounder Hayley Jensen. Jensen is currently a contracted WHITEFERNS player who has played her domestic cricket for Canterbury in the past.  She is an experienced player having played eight One Day Internationals and 20 T20 Internationals for the WHITEFERNS. In addition Hayley has played 86, 50 over games and 98, T20 domestic games . She has also had experience in Australia’s Big Bash T20 league.

The squad includes world class players and WHITEFERNS; Katey Martin and Suzie Bates who are excited to represent the SBS Bank Otago Sparks in between their international commitments.

The SBS Bank Otago Sparks Squad for the 2019/20 season is;  Suzie Bates, Emma Black, Caitlin Blakely, Ella Brown, Eden Carson, Georgia Clarke, Millie Cowan, Olivia Gain, Bhagya Herath, Bella James, Hayley Jensen, Marina Lamplough, Molly Loe, Katey Martin, Sophie Oldershaw, Bridget Thayer and Olivia West.

For further information please contact Nathan King (