Strong performances at recent tournaments

01 Nov 2019

U19 Women’s – Invercargill

Our first ever District U19 Women’s Tournament took place in Invercargill over Labour Weekend, an exciting new playing opportunity aligning to the new National U19 playing opportunities. We thank Southland Cricket for hosting the tournament, under challenging weather conditions leading up to and during the event, Jason Domigan and his team ensured we were able to maximise the amount of play possible by being flexible and planned with facilities.  Whilst heavy rain affected the tournament there was still time for several highlights:

Olivia Gain (Dunedin) ( 104* off 39 balls including 6 sixes and 11 fours vs. Southland)

Emily Brosnahan (Dunedin) 58* vs. Southland

River Cunningham (North Otago) 77 vs Southland

Megan Meltzer (Southland) 72 vs. North Otago

Eden Carson (Otago Country) 61 vs. Dunedin

Angelique Peyroux (Dunedin) 6/13 vs. Otago Country

Kloe Vermier (Otago Country) 6/8 vs. North Otago


Congratulations to Dunedin who won the tournament with two wins from two completed fixtures.

Congratulations also to the following players who have been selected in the Otago U19 Women’s Training Squad:

Angelique Peyroux

Bhagya Herath

Emily Brosnahan

Grace Walding

Isy Parry

Olivia Gain

Emma Black

Megan Meltzer

Jordan Meltzer

Joy Dvoracek

Alice Petrie

Molly Loe

River Cunningham

Ella Hurley

Harriett Cuttance

Neave Sheehy

Eden Carson

Kloe Vermeir

Lucy Viggers

Paige Loggenberg


U17 Boys Oamaru

Special thanks to North Otago Cricket Association for once again hosting a very successful District U17 Boys' Tournament in Oamaru. Congratulations to Southland who won a thrilling final day match against Dunedin to finish unbeaten and District U17 Champions for this season. There were several notable individual performances:

Oram Gutsell (Dunedin) 5/34 vs. North Otago

Jacob Murray (Dunedin) 100* vs. North Otago

Jacob Cumming (Dunedin) 89 vs. North Otago

Benji Culhane (Southland 109 vs. Otago Country

Finn Hurley (Southland) 103 vs. Otago Country

Gabe Ross (Dunedin) 60* vs. Otago Country

Jed Mockford (Southland) 87* vs. Dunedin


Congratulations to the following players who were selected for the Otago U17 Boys training squad:

Aaron Hart

Alex Wilson

Ben McCall

Benji Culhane

Finn Farquharson

Finn Hurley

Gabe Ross

Jacob Cumming

Jacob Gilbert

Jacob Murray

Jake Kura-Wharepouri

Jed Mockford

Joe Ingram

Lachlan Brookes

Oram Gutsell

Reuben Bouman

Seb Kyle

Toby Hart

Will Casey

Xavier Chisholm